The 4 Seasons by Vivaldi, Ave Maria and Famous Adagios

Buy tickets
October 2021 Next

Antonio Vivaldi's Four Seasons is a set of four violin concerti composed in 1723. It is probably Vivaldi's best known composition and the most frequently performed musical work in the world. It is a violin concerto in which a violin plays accompanied by a chamber orchestra. The content of each concerto is varied and evokes each of the seasons to which it relates. For example, winter is punctuated by pizzicato notes on the high strings, reminiscent of an icy rain, while summer evokes a storm in the final movement, prepared by thunder rumbling several times in the movement.

The Concerti of the Four Seasons were first published in 1725 as part of a set of 12 concerti, Op. 8 under the theme of "the confrontation between harmony and invention" (il cimento dell'armonia e dell'inventione). The first four concerti were named the Four Seasons, which were named after the season in question.

Program and cast

Vivaldi's 4 Seasons "Summer" and "Winter",

Mozart's "Overture" to the Marriage of Figaro,

Massenet's "Meditation from Thaïs",

Bach's "Aria",

Schubert's "Ave Maria",

Rachmaninov's "Vocalise",

"Adagio in G Minor by Albinoni,

"Hungarian Dance No. 5 by Brahms,

"Andante Cantabile" by Paganini,

Chopin's "Nocturne",

Elgar's "Salut d'Amour",

"Czardas" by Monti

Church of Saint-Germain-des-Prés

Related events