DomQuartier Salzburg

Mozarteum Concerts
Wien - DomQuartier Salzburg
Next performance: Th 28 Jan 2021, 11:00

Over 400 years ago, the Salzburg prince-archbishops began to transform the town into an Italian-style Baroque gem. They created a masterpiece of urban design, which is today a UNESCO World Heritage site.

The prince-archbishops’ absolutist rule claimed control over both “heavenly and earthly” matters. The building complex consisting of Residenz and Cathedral was the outward expression of this universal spiritual and secular power. In 1803, secularisation closed the connecting doors.

Installation of the DomQuartier restored the original architectural unity of the Cathedral and Residenz precinct, also including the Benedictine monastery of St Peter’s and thus creating an internationally unique museum project.